Manatee in Boca Raton Intracoastal Waterway

The manatee is a victim of pollution.

The manatee emerges for air.

Manatees can live for 60 years.

The manatee tail as it swam under our boat.

 

Years ago, while I was taking a boat from Terre-de-Haut Island, Iles des Saintes, to Guadeloupe, I was horrified when midway, the captain dumped plastic garbage bags overboard. Though it was legal, I thought about the ramifications for sea life.

Today, when I walk the beach, I pick up trash that visitors leave behind. I believe that vacationers don’t realize that a plastic cup, child’s shovel, or deflated balloons cause ocean pollution and a possible agonizing death or illness for seabirds and sea animals like this gentle manatee.

I am posting these photos hoping that this mammal will inspire travelers to keep their beaches, oceans, waterways, etc. clean. Happy travels.

Leave a Reply

