Annapolis Waterfront Marriott–Former Bellman Roosevelt, Missed

English: The dock or harbor in Annapolis, Mary...

English: The dock or harbor in Annapolis, Maryland. Dock Street is just out of the frame of the photo to the right. Folks leaving their boats tied up here would step right out into the street. The Maryland State Capitol is the tall tower in the distance. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My family  visited the Annapolis Waterfront Marriott several times over many years for lacrosse tournaments and holiday parties.  I still feel a loss when we arrive at the Marriott, because Roosevelt Sterling, the bellman, who assisted us for years, passed away in 2007. It is ironic that we visited a few times annually, and his absence still makes me sad.

Roosevelt Sterling always greeted us with a smile and  ensured that our bags arrived promptly in our room.  He used his hook hand to maneuver suitcases and bags. He was professional, personable and efficient.

According to his obituary, Roosevelt welcomed dignitaries, state legislators and sailors. He even made us feel special.

I think  about Roosevelt when we visit the Annapolis Waterfront Marriott.  I always glance at his portrait in the lobby.  Isn’t it funny how someone  you rarely encounter can make a lasting impression?

2 thoughts on “Annapolis Waterfront Marriott–Former Bellman Roosevelt, Missed

  1. Cynthia Sterling says:

    I would like to thank the family who wrote about my dad Roosevelt Sterling.My name is Cynthia Sterling and I truly miss my dad.He may be gone but he will never be forgotten.I love you Dad until we meet again.R.I.P

    Like

    • It is amazing that someone we rarely encountered made an impression on us. We can’t walk into that hotel without thinking about him. He was a special man, and you are lucky to be his daughter. You are right, he will not be forgotten.

      Like

Leave a Reply

