My Magazine Photo From 1977 Republished

I shimmied and squeezed into the green, yellow-trimmed-one-piece cocktail waitress costume. The outfit’s scoop neck, and the V that formed in the front and back from the high-cut legs were like arrows that pointed to everything  private.

The stockings  underneath helped, but when I grabbed the bottom between my index fingers and thumbs to pull it down, it slid back up.

On my only night waitressing in the smoke-filled discotheque, I hoisted a brown plastic tray over my head topped with Tangeray and tonics, strawberry daiquiris, pina coladas and more. I slid through crowds of polyester attired men who flaunted gold watches and chains, and Farah Fawcett-haired women adorned in jewelry, push up bras, halter dresses, jumpsuits and platform sandals.

The Admirals  sang  the latest dance songs and pounded the electric piano, guitars and drums, and  blared  horns.  The songs reverberated, and the dance floor filled.

Dancers bumped hip to hip, shoulder to shoulder and hip to shoulder. They stepped high, shuffled, slid,  dipped, twisted and twirled combining the jitterbug, samba and waltz.

While the customers partied, I worked.  I leaned over to place drinks on a  low table and the bottom of my outfit slid higher and my top slipped lower.  I made my decision.

After work, I approached the owner and told him that I was uncomfortable wearing the costume. He  understood and asked me if I would wear a tennis dress and serve drinks and lunch around the pool.  I agreed.

While I worked poolside, a photographer from the local “Resorter” magazine approached and asked if he could photograph me for the cover. I consented, and he returned and shot several photos for the July 1977 magazine. I believe that this was more about advertising the club than me.

I recognize the irony that I refused to wear a risqué cocktail outfit but I agreed to pose in a bikini.  I felt cheap in the cocktail outfit, but wearing a bikini in a beach resort seemed normal.

Last week, unbeknownst to me, a local paper “revisited” the July 1977 Resorter issue and displayed my old photo in their paper.  I was surprised that I was ever that young.

31 thoughts on “My Magazine Photo From 1977 Republished

    • We had many memorable times in that club. I was shocked when I opened the paper this weekend and saw my old photo, it was pretty funny. My friends said that they wished that they could go back and waiter/waitress at the beach, and I agree. Those were the days…

  1. Such a pretty photo! I was a little kid in those disco days, and they let us have a “juice night” (early) on Sunday nights to disco dance under all the lights and the mirror ball. Fun times.

  2. I miss the 70s, although I wasn’t old enough to go clubbing yet. But my sister was, and I’ll always have a fondness for the Studio 54 era from watching her go through it. Love that pic and this charming story!

    • The paper publishing that photo again after 36 years was a great surprise. And gosh we had a lot of fun in our youth, some of my friends commented how they would love to go back. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

