Bluebirds nested, fledged and one probably dead

I have  attracted  bluebirds using mealworms and birdbaths, but I have not been successful with them nesting in my bluebird box until this year.

In the past, bluebirds have attempted to build a nest, only to have sparrows evict them. This year a pair of bluebirds laid eggs and produced four nestlings.

Two weeks ago the baby bluebirds left their nest or fledged.  When I walked outside, several adult  bluebirds dive bombed me, and I spotted four fledglings hopping on my lawn.

Fledgling survival depends on the parents hearing their call and finding them. The parents will continue to feed  and care for them for three to four weeks as they learn independence.

Unfortunately not all fledglings survive. The day after I saw the  baby bluebirds,  I found fledgling feathers on the lawn, and I suspected that  a predator attacked at least one of them.

Some of their  predators include snakes, fire ants, opossum, mice, rats, owls, and raccoons.  In addition,  humans also threaten their survival through pesticide use and  removal of their habitat through development.

Some sources say about 50 percent of fledglings will not survive, but I suspect that the number is greater.

http://dorothyadele.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/attracting-bluebirds-with-mealworms-a-heated-birdbath-and-humor/

11 thoughts on “Bluebirds nested, fledged and one probably dead

  1. Cheryl says:

    Great pictures of the fledging babies! I never get lucky enough! I have had 3 successful broods in 3 different boxes this year. My best year yet. I think they were successful because I never peeked! I’m hoping they go for another!

    • The only reason I have bluebirds is because I follow your suggestions.

      I learned that if you remove the nests after they fledge the parents are more likely to return. Also, if you leave the old nests, they may get infested with ants and kill the new baby bluebirds.

  2. great images, saw you posted like on my site, wish you had left comments.

    I have had 4 different broods in 4 different boxes and now we have another brrod that has been going on for a few weeks. I watched the male bring in material for the nest then the female did her magic. I peeked into the box and she built a high nest. I was in such a hurry that I forgot to take a picture of the nest. I am sure she has layed her eggs now so I hate to bother her.

    Fledglings are hanging around eating the mealworms with dad, I assume these are from one of the other broods earlier in May.

    please vist my site again, posted another blog today.

    thank you,
    Michael

    It’s Bluebird Nesting Time Again!

  3. Hey Dorothy,
    It was 4 different broods in 4 different bird houses. I have 5 birdhouses on my property. Four of the houses had a brood and now I have one of the same houses with their second brood. We do have a lot of bluebirds in our area and they love my large bluebird houses. I am on a mountain nearly at the top. We have a bit of cleared area and the ramining area around is woods.

    I did find a nice heated birdbath and got it ordered, thank you for your help on that.

    I wanted to ask you what type of camera and lense you are using for the bluebird pictures?

    Michael

  4. Thanks for the pingback. I’m truly loving the bluebird shenanigans that go on outside my door each day. I wish I could reach the nest the sparrow has taken over and remove it. Sadly it is way too high for me to reach, even with a ladder. But maintenance removed the nest over the neighbor’s porch light. My complex doesn’t allow bird feeders, baths, etc. But my clever little bluebirds and their fledglings are still hanging around so I have hope that they will continue to nest in the area. I would love any suggestions you have for making their stay more comfortable. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

